These days people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are the causes and problems?

It is true that people have the tendency toward using one-time products in some nations. However, this lifestyle can have detrimental effects on the environment and health issues in the contemporary world, so they should be tackled by measures from government and merchants to address future problems.

Due to the surge of this “throw-away” habit, several related problems can be anticipated. The main issue is inflicting serious damage on the environment. In reality, people tend to use convenient single-use plastic products such as: plastic bottles, bags or coffee which can be taken away. Take the Mediterranean sea as an example, the ocean is facing serious problems relating to disposal bottles, which pose a huge threat to marine life and underwater ecosystems. Furthermore, health issues can be an inevitable obstacle. In fact, people increasingly rely on packaged goods that lack essential nutrients. These short life-cycle items can contain harmful chemicals and toxins which not only lead to obesity and diabetes but also contribute to chronic illness.

Since such issues are negative, several measures could be taken to alleviate these problems. First and foremost, the government can run campaigns to raise citizens’ awareness on this harmful habit. For instance, the Vietnamese government has organized a project that adopts a zero-waste program which encourages citizens to utilize more sustainable products. Secondly, the retailers can organize some sale-off days to promote sustainable consumption. This is aim to foster people to buy long-lasting products rather than disposable ones. As a result, this action probably can reduce waste and conserve resources.

In conclusion, while “throw-away” habit can exert dangerous effects on the global ground and health issue, these can be solved with government-led activities and retailers action. It is predicted that there will be more eco-friendly products in the world which need cooperate actions from both authority and citizens.