These days people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are the causes and problems?

Nowadays, in majority of the countries, people tend to live in a “throw-away” society which means, they use something for a short term and then throw them away. This essay is about causes and consequences of this problem.

In twentieth century, technology developed rapidly and scientists discover the new ways to obtain useful things by using chemicals. One of the main discoveries was introduction of the plastic, the substance that not only light and cheap, also hard to break down. In late-twentieth century, the production of plastic increased dramatically. It replaced metals and woods, because of its unusual features. Manufacturing plastic is very easy and cheap and this also effected in plastics’ cost in markets. However, some of the plastic types can only be used once. After using them, they must thrown away by users to avoid health issues that they may experience later on. As a result, demand for the plastic will increases and more plastic will be produced. This is the main reason why “throw-away” society is developed without intention.

Production of these things will harm the environment. Plastic does not break down biologically because it is chemical substance. It takes a few centuries to decompose. Decomposition does not that change this substance chemically, it will create microplastic which more dangerous than plastic itself. Microplastic may enter our body with our food. When plastic buried under the ground, it will decrease the quality of soil and crops that harvested on this ground may have very small plastics in it. A recent study found that, 60% of babies who born last year has microplastic in their blood. This is the result of “throw-away” society.

In conclusion, “throw-away” society has developed after introduction of plastic and the consequences of this discovery is very bad for people in the future.