To prepare for a future career, should academic knowledge be more important than soft skills and experienced activities in high school?

Some people adhere to the notion that students should only learn academic knowledge to have a good academic transcript rather than learn soft skills and experienced activities. In my opinion, despite the significance of academic study and exams, students should also learn life skills and practical activities.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that studying academic prowess is extremely vital for every student. First, many academic subjects equip students with some fundamental knowledge, for example, math, physics, and English are the foundation for further academic fields at the tertiary school. If they do not have in-depth knowledge when they were in high school, they might face obstacles and might fail the exam when they study university. Second, if they regularly cultivate their academic performance, they will have a good academic record and they can take advantage of it to enroll in many prestigious universities.

On the other hand, soft skills and practical activities play a crucial role in the process at high school. Soft skills can take the opportunity for them to become more self-reliant when they step into higher school such as cooking, washing, and self-care. Besides, through many experienced activities, students can utterly ameliorate their skills like communication, presentation skill, problem-solving skills, which is very beneficial for them in the future. In addition, in the era of advancement, many employers prefer candidates with a diverse range of experiences and extracurricular activities rather than a student with just a good record.

To sum up, students should balance learning academic knowledge and soft skills, experienced activities. Both of them can contribute to well-rounded development of individuals, thereby fostering their career prospects.