to what extent do u agree community service should be mandatory in high school programmes

Community service plays a vital role in shaping young children’s minds and helps foster social responsibility. However, some argue whether unpaid community service should be a mandatory part of high school programmes. I agree to the extent of it being able to enhance students’ life skills.

Community service can act as a valuable experience for students as it is able to provide life skills that are not normally taught in traditional classrooms. Skills such as teamwork, leadership, and communication are often fostered through volunteering activities. These activities include charity drives and beach clean-up. Furthermore, these programs heavily benefit the students as they would have a more impressive resume for college applications in addition to benefitting society. These life skills are transferable to their future careers, making community service a win-win situation for everyone.

Although there are undeniable advantages to making unpaid community service compulsory, there are drawbacks that come with it.

I disagree with making community service compulsory as students might feel resentment towards it, especially those already struggling with academic and extracurricular activities. To them, community service is an additional burden for them to bear and they would approach volunteering tasks half-heartedly. For example, slacking around during volunteering programs. Hence, undermining the true purpose of community service in the first place.

In conclusion, implementing community service into the high school programmes comes with its pros which is enhancing life skills However, it has its cons as well which is students feeling resentment towards the initiative itself. In my opinion, schools should make it compulsory for students to join community service programs because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.