To what extent do you agree with this statement: 'Social media has had a negative impact on society.'

Social media is playing an adverse role in our everyday lives. Through this essay, I would like to throw light on how social media is detrimental to the public. There are a plethora of reasons due to which social media has its own limitations and the usage of this has to subside over a period of time.

I personally believe that social media is affecting the community in a pessimestic approach. Firstly, the use of technology has increased precedently. All of us spend ample amount of time on significant social media applications like Instagram and Snapchat. The execessive use of these applications is making us let go of the foresight in life on what is more important than tehcnology: relationships and bonds. For instance, before the concept of TikToks or Instagram was released, all of us were mindful and had effective ways to keep our body active as well beacuse of which people are becoming excessively lazy.

Moreover, another congent reason for this is due to the distraction it cuases that is making teenagers sway away from reality. On one hand, social media can be used as an escape from reality for a tad bit of time whereas on the other hand, it is restricting the teens to hone on their personal skills. For example, many influencers on social media talk about enhacing their beauty by using various products to cover their flaws. This consequently resulting in teens to question themselevs and the way they appear to others.

In a nutshell, social media is restricting us to explore oppurtunities that is resulting in opting out of more sure and long term aspects of life. Usage of social media doesn’t have a downfall until excessively used that can hinder personal growth and drag us away from reality. Therefore, if necessary changes aren’t made by the indivdual, they would have to take personal measures to cope up with this.