To what extent do you agree with this statement: 'Social media has had a negative impact on society.'

There is a common belief that social media has had a negative impact on society which I hardly agree. In my opinion, social media has benefits as well as drawbacks and I will illustrate that in this essay

First of all, I will begin with the benefits of social networking. Connecting with people all around the world has not been so easy since the advent of social media. We can keep ourselves well-informed in any time without going outside. Besides, it is more convenient for users to book the things they want on the internet because businesses can advertise their products with a very cheap price. Moreover, another benefit of social network is that it can be used as a mean of entertainment. We can use it to relieve stresses after intense hours of working or studying.

However, it is also important to note that social media has plenty of drawbacks affecting badly to the society. The first and foremost probably is that social media is very addictive. This is because the firm making the application wants people to use it as many hours as possible so that they can gain profits. Being addicted to social networking has a series of detrimental impact on the society such as obesity, short-sighted or lots of other health problems. Another drawbacks of social media is cyberbullying. This is caused by people knowing that the things they said on the internet has no consequence on them. There are lots of case of attempting suicide because of this which have been mentions on the news.

Overall, social media has both benefits and drawbacks so we should not abuse it.