To what extent do you agree with this statement: 'Social media has had a negative impact on society.'

Social media emerged in the early 20s and has rapidly grown since. While there are many controversial opinions around how it is affecting the society, I believe it had made a positive impact.

Firstly, social media has reduced the unemployment rate in every country. It started a new field of business such as influencers, market advertisers,…With the emergence of tons of job opportunities, there are more and more younglings that is taking advantage of it and making millions on social platforms. TikTok, for instance, was a major success among all online platforms regardless of its late debut. There are thousands of people earning their living by streaming, doing advertising contract et cetera on TikTok. Not only social-related, expertise-required personnel witnessed an enormous increment in demand. From big companies such as Facebook, TikTok to smaller ones like Bing, Twitch are all hiring experts from around the globe.

Additionally, social media also plays a crucial role in this globalization era. Online streaming platform such as Nimo, Twitch could bring hundreds of people, regardless of their nationality, together to watch a person playing games, talking,… With its powerful ability, social media has done a great work connecting people. Not only that, social media can boost people’s desire to “go-global” through hundreds of motivational videos and posts.

In conclusion, I believe social platforms has improved our life. It has created many job opportunities, bring people together and propagate useful ideas for every person in the world. With that being said, I don’t agree with the statement “Social media has had a negative impact on society.”