To what extent do you agree with this statement: 'Social media has had a negative impact on society.'

There is no denying that, Social media has brought many advantages to different sectors. However, I believe it has also brought some serious negative consequences. This essay will portray how impact of social media has had negative effect on society.

Firstly, cyber crime is one of the major drawbacks of social media. Different crimes like bullying, blackmail, scams, and threatening is on the rise. In addition, to that hate speech, racism and body shaming is also gaining popularity in Social media platforms. For example, A particular race is targeted and bullied in the social media platform for a certain unethical act conducted by an individual of a certain group.

Furthermore, research shows social media is one of the major reason for increasing anxiety and depression in past decade. Inferiority complex and frequent hit of dopamine hormone is the reason how social media invokes anxiety and depression. For instance, low number of likes and followers in certain social media platform is likely to bring inferiority complex in addition, constant comparison with others lifestyle will also promote this phenomena.

Overall, due to reasons like cyber crime and increasing mental health issues of user, I believe social media has brought some negative effect on society.