To what extent do you agree with this statement: 'Social media has had a negative impact on society.'

Modern social media networks have had a profound impact on our world today. Although this revolutionary advancement in technology has yielded a lot of benefits, in this essay I will give a balanced view of the advantages and disadvantages of social media on current day society.

Firstly, the biggest positive impact social media has had on society today, stems from how it allows for information to be spread (usually as messages) all around the world almost instantaneously! Individuals from different corners of the globe now had the ability to freely communicate with eachother. This also facilitated the globalization of the economy, as now many companies not only serve their local people but they now serve the world! In addition to that, it has also allowed a select few people to work remotely and serve companies in different companies. Overall, this development has yielded many opportunaties to buy and sell products globally and has had a positive impact on the world in this regard.

However, many of the negative aspects of social media are unravelled when looking at the impact the use of social media has on a personal level. Due to our younger generations being addicted to their phones and social media, their has been a lack of real life social contact which has led these generations having poorer relationships and mental health. Additionally, many of these social media applications such as tiktok and instagram have been shown to promote content that is dangerous to our youth and is damaging them socially, mentally and in ways we sometimes can’t even imagine!

In conclusion, social media has helped develop the world’s economy and has offered many opportunities to citizens of the world. However, it has also left us with many challenges especially in regards to the social well being of people.