Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely recognized that an increasing number of people using digital devices such as smartphones and computers are losing the capacity to communicate directly. This essay will attempt to shed light on why I am firmly strong agree with this statement.

One major reason why I agree with this view is that real conversation is gradually replaced by texting and online video calls. Because of its convenience in terms of saving time and effort, people rely on text messages and social applications through digital devices instead of face-to-face conversation. A clear example of this is that people can spend an excessive amount of time chatting and making video calls through some popular applications such as Messenger or Instagram rather than meeting directly and talking to each other. Consequently, people have fewer opportunities to develop interpersonal skills.

Another rational reason is that excessive electronic device use can lead to addiction. The attractive application and mobile game are designed to capture user’s attention, making people spend a large time surfing and scrolling the endless new feed and difficult to put their phone down. To illustrate, people can even spend the whole day scrolling and watching endless content on Tiktok instead of talking to each other and outdoor gatherings. As a result, this action would reduce their productivity and lose the ability of speaking fluently or even making eye contact with other people, negatively affecting people’s communicational skills.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the significant growth of using mobile devices and computers would erode people’s social interaction skills due to communication online and digital devices addition.