Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate regarding whether mobile phones and computers are the main causes of poor communication skills. Although there are numerous different factors that have negative effects on people’s ability to communicate. I still believe that excessive reliance on digital devices is the most considerable reason.

On the one hand, it is understandable why individuals think that mobile phones and computers are the biggest causes of lacking social interaction. In the past, before smart phones and personal computers became widespread, people had to rely on face-to-face conversations, letters or other social connections which strengthened communication skills and interpersonal relationships. Nowadays, with the convenience of smart phones and computers people start abusing these devices in their daily conversation. By using a smart phone or laptop with internet connection people can send instant messages or utilize social media to follow others’ lives . As a result, mobile phones and computers are one of the pivotal reasons that make people lose the ability to communicate without perception.

However, this trend does not necessarily mean that smartphones and personal computers are totally detrimental for people’s communicational ability. Indeed, these digital devices have revolutionized how people work, and contact with each other. Many smartphone applications such as video call or message applications allow us to connect with other people all around the world which was impossible in the past. They actually serve as a bridge more than a barrier to real world interaction, provided that everyone can utilize these devices responsibly and ethically.

In conclusion, although mobile phones, computers, and many other digital devices have various benefits and play an indispensable part in our daily life. Its negative effects should be concerned by every user. As long as people use smartphones responsibly, they will continue to play a pivotal role in modern life.