Today more people are overweight than ever before. What are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

These days, the number of overweight people is on the rise and there are many reasons and outcomes for this. But what are the causes and effects of this situation? This essay will include that.

I am certain that the most important origin to this problem is that technology is being used to make people lazy, rather than to help them progress. It is clear that the thing that distracts us the most and consumes our time is the time we spend in front of our screens. To prove this, a study in Korea examined the daily screen time and physical activity levels of 7,808 adults. The results showed that adults with more than 6 hours of screen time per day had a significantly higher risk of obesity. Another source of this difficulty is unhealthy eating habits. Many food companies, in order to increase sales and develop themselves, add substances to their products that enhance taste and begin addiction, and when people constantly crave these edible items, they abandon their diets. To attest this, a systematic review conducted in China investigated the association between “Western-style diet” (high in fast food, sugar, and processed foods) and high heaviness and chubby figure. A positive correlation was observed between a Western-style diet and obesity. But these are just two major roots, and they lead to a host of negative consequences.

As I see it, there is not a single outturn that is good about adiposity. So here are the bad aftermaths of the issues that I mentioned in the previous paragraph. Every minute we spend in front of a screen prevents us from using that time more efficiently, and after a while, it becomes our everyday routine. Furthermore, due to inactivity, our bodies struggle to perform even the most energy-intensive activities, or may even become unable to do so at all. This lack of physical activity can lead not only to a poor physical condition but also to heart diseases and diabetes. On the other hand, harmful nourishment makes us gain unwanted body fat very quickly. And when we start longing for what we eat constantly, our weight can reach levels that are very painful to lose. Besides these, our appearance can negatively affect our psychology and lead to troubles such as depression and anxiety. These show us the unpleasant upshots of a sedentary lifestyle.

Overall, obesity is an obstacle that needs to be addressed quickly, and the misuse of machinery and Inadequate nutrition patterns that contribute to it, along with immobility, lead to an undesirable physique.