Today, there are many tasks at home or work that have been done by robots. Is this a positive or negative development?

Due to the dramatic improvement of recent artificial intelligence (AI) technology, taking full advantage of its capability to synthesize and analyse massive information to tackle our difficulties nowadays seems common. However, I reckon this action possibly has a two-sided effect.

Regarding the optimistic side, this advanced technology offers people a great deal of benefits. For instance, it minimizes our time spent on research and maximizes final productivity. Instead of spending hours just to compile and select the enormous amount of information on the internet, now all you need is to type down your command with a click, and the algorithm will do the rest for you. Besides, the efficiency of a company can also be enhanced remarkably if it is utilized rightly. That is why almost every website and application nowadays has at least a chatbot, Gemini from Google or Facebook with MetaAI, for example. This capability of artificial intelligence is alternately being invested in by many companies, since the amount of information it attains is even greater than those who have senior experience in work, allowing it to deal with clients’ queries and better their experiences of the service.

On the other hand, the negative consequences of AI can happen in two ways. Firstly, this habit of relying on the technology probably leads to our laziness in thinking, which obstructs creativity and breakthroughs in every field. Secondly, unemployment is a real issue currently, and having artificial intelligence work in specific positions of a firm means those staff can be replaced at any time. Not only is this about making more and more people be out of work, but it also has the potential to cause crimes because when people can no longer earn their living, they can do anything for themselves and sometimes their families.

In short, the more modern the technology is, the more smart actions when using it are required. Robots could be a great tool for humans, but it does not mean they will soon take our places in life.