Today, there are many tasks at home or work that have been done by robots. Is this a positive or negative development?

In contemporary society, it is widely seen that there are various tasks at home or work that are being done by robots. While acknowledging that this trend can undoubtedly be beneficial, I contend that it is rather a negative development.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why this tendency can, to a certain level, be beneficial. The foremost reason lies in the fact that robots can replace humans in many risky tasks. In this day and age, there are a large number of work-based and home-related tasks that necessitate labor-intensive skills and capabilities, ranging from house repairs to factory operation. In reality, these tasks are mostly dangerous and require people to obtain good expertise. However, with a highly-trained and fully-developed capacity of fulfilling daunting tasks, robots can help people do the aforementioned tasks effortlessly, serving as a means to ensure humans’ safety. In addition, this integration of robots enables people to develop themselves properly. Evidently, individuals are now increasingly faced with an abundance of household chores and work-based responsibilities, depriving them of necessary time spent on other important things, such as personal development and leisure pursuits. As the incorporation of robots becomes prevalent, some time-consuming activities such as dish-washing and signing documents can be done effectively and quickly, affording people more time for personal development.

On the other hand, I still believe that this development is rather detrimental. The most prominent reason lies in a broader scenario of technological dominance. It is evident that humans have become overly reliant on technological advancements in many different facets. As scientists have envisaged, if this reality continues to exist, robots will develop themselves to become more intelligent than humanity, ultimately leading to a doomsday when technologies like AI dominate society as a whole. Clearly, while robots can replace humans in a number of difficult or dangerous tasks, it is not worth sacrificing long-term societal development for such a benefit. Furthermore, the integration of robots into humans’ life can lead to higher rates of unemployment and a worsened standard of living. In modern times, machines are being increasingly applied to a variety of aspects, especially the operation of industrial estates. In fact, many factory workers who build their career in industrial zones have been left redundant, either because of a lack of flexibility or a limited ability to be as versatile as robots. Over time, this issue gives rise to the problem of unemployment, meaning that it suppresses an increase in many people’s quality of life. Apparently, a sustainable development without high rates of unemployment and low-quality living standards is admittedly weightier and cannot be compromised for the sake of personal comfort and development.

In conclusion, while the integration of robots into many home-based and work-related tasks can, to a certain extent, be beneficial, I would believe that this development is rather negative, as it contributes to higher unemployment rates, aggravates the living standards, and leads to the dominance of robots in the near future.