Today, TV channels broadcast men’s sports show more that women’s sports shows. Why is this the case?

Nowadays, the broadcasting of male’s sport shows occurs in a greater extent compared to female’s on TV. There can be a few reasons to this matter.

First and foremost, it is not a secret that men have been appreciated more than women for centuries in any fields, and sport is not an exception. The first reason could be the number of female athletes participating in sports, which is very small. It is a widespread myth that women can not succeed in sports as men do, which led to less sportswomen showing their inclination towards these activities, and thereby, not appearing on TV channels.

In addition, broadcasting almost solely depends on the opinions of reviewers, which includes their revenue as well. The major audience of this network is the male one, and their opinion on including the opposite gender into their regular watching regime is quite negative. Being popular in this field usually equals to have better income, so it is not a surprise that broadcasting female events that are not being interesting for viewers can not be showed on TV, as it puts them into financial strain.

To sum up, I would like to mention that a more rare broadcasting of men’s athletic shows than women’s has some causes, which include women showing less appearances in sports and broadcasting not choosing to show female participations due to their limited popularity amongst their general audience.