Too much emphasis is placed on student education. More government money should be spent on free-time activities for young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is often argued that examinations are overemphasized in the modern educational system. While some people believe that exams significantly increase study motivation, others insist that it also causes superfluous tension on students and restricted teachers. I strongly agree with latter view that there shoud be less emphasis on testing process.

One of the primary reason why exams are harmful is the excessive pshycological pressure that places on students. For instance: Gaokao – the main national exam for Chinese pupils. On the day of this exam whole country is freezes, due to a huge impact on children’s future. The preparation to it may take more than 8 hours per day which is higher compared to other countries. Students who are unable to cope with such pressure, at the best way simply run away from home, leaving their previous life behind out of fear of being rejected in society for failing exam. This is one of the main reason why ‘nowadays’ generation is prone to depression and constant burnout from the educational process.

Another significant factor is that teachers are not allowed to deviate from syllabys. Not only does it force them to move away from creativity, but it also transform educational process into mechanical memorization rather than genuine understanding, which turn subjects into boring lectures. As a results, students are training to solve tests instead of obtain practical knowledge and enjoy beeing a student. Teachers are also become to forget that their main duty is to broaden students’ interest to subject and to be sure that they understood given them material.

In conclusion, while there are arguments on both sides, I firmly believe that there is no specific need to force students pass a lot of exams and teachers to follow a strick academic plan, as it may lead to health problems for students and no desire to teach among teachers.