TOPIC: Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays ís much better than it was in the past. Both view and give opinion?

In contemporary society, a segment of the population reckons that old people have to cope with several challenges in the modern world, whilst others claim that there are a plethora of benefits which facilitate these people’s lives now. From my perspective, the elderly have indeed suffered arduous aspects of today’s world, but they have better exposure to modern technologies and services. In this essay, I will elaborate on both sides of the debate with some facts being closely examined.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that one of the prior problems that the elderly have to cope with is the simultaneous competition in professional spheres. To illustrate, conglomerates and commercial businesses are inclined to recruit young employees for their physical function, savoir-faire skills and flexibility. Adherently, this young workforce is assessed as fulfilling job requirements and tasks much more effectively than the experienced group, stimulating companies’ revenues drastically. Moreover, attempting to engage in modern lifestyle and utilising cutting-edge technologies can be other issues. To be specific, smartphones or cars are hard to acquire since the older generation cannot comprehend complex usages and sophisticated manuals. Hence, many individuals believe that older people are hindered in the conventional world.

On the other hand, we should acknowledge that there is a wealth of social welfare and retirement benefits for the older group’s serenity. Obviously, governments are devoted to offering financial aid monthly and complementary medical services. Because of that, the previous generation’s living conditions can be ensured and reinforced. Furthermore, the seniors have better access to advanced amenities. For instance, innovative hospital infrastructure can provide them with a comfortable healing environment and renovative medical treatments are invented to foster healthier lives. As a result, the concerns of health in later life can be addressed. Eventually, living conditions nowadays are safer than the past with a security system. Looking back, obsolete and undeveloped protection systems are the major causes of intrusions into household residences, leading to fatal consequences to old people who live alone. Thus, I agree that elderly people are beneficial nowadays.

To encapsulate, I can conclude that, the merits outweigh the demerits as while the older groups are witnessed to deal with issues related to technology usage and obstacles in finding jobs, they still receive nourished services such as health care and financial support.