Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism bring more advantages or disadvantages to a country? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, with the outstanding growth of the Internet, people have developed more interest in things outside of their home. This has created a great opportunity for the tourism industry to develop. It also begs the question of whether there are more upsides or downsides. Based on my knowledge, I can guarantee that the benefits are more worthy of attention than the drawbacks. Here’s why.

First and foremost, tourism is a great factor in economy-boosting; it offers more jobs for the locals to take part in. This will greatly help in mitigating the unemployment rate and increasing the quality of life. Countries like Thailand heavily rely on tourism to elevate their GDP. Secondly, things like eco-tourism play a decently important role in raising the public’s awareness about environmental protection. By presenting nature and its importance, people can have a clearer image of the current situation and therefore change to a better mindset. On a side note, traveling to different countries creates a better chance for tourists to dive in and appreciate the foreign culture, uniting everyone in the world and a better chance at eradicating problems like racism.

However, there are some negatives to be considered. Despite having eco-tours organized, the tourism industry still has some detrimental impact on the environment. Emissions from vehicles used in touring, like planes or buses, are one of the top contributors to global warming, damaging the ozone layer and air pollution. Another thing to consider is that even when the economy is benefiting from tourism, some places are too dependent on it, resulting in invulnerable income due to the seasonal aspect of it. We can learn from the COVID pandemic, when the tourism industry ran into a crisis with the lockdown protocol being in action worldwide.

In conclusion, there’s no doubt about tourism being two-sided. But its benefits outstand the drawbacks. Therefore, it is more important to look on the bright side and know how to work things professionally to enhance the advantages.