towns and cities are attractive places. some people suggest that the government should spend money putting in more works of art like painting and statues to make them better to live in. do you agree or disagree?

It is controversial whether local authorities should purchase artistic oeuvres such as paintings and sculptures in an attempt to improve the metropolitan landscape. Perspectively, I firmly believe that authorities should have funding to decorate urban areas with those artworks, giving the reason below to buttress my opinion.

Putting more works of art to make towns and cities more attractive means buying more graphic works, pictures and statues to put them in public areas, in which these products are capable of increasing the attractiveness of those areas. This effort might be beneficial on two aspects of the towns and cities: improving the metropolitan landscape and developing local tourism.

Firstly, decorating the streets or public places with artworks can improve the urban scenes. Artworks such as sculptures or statues are utilized to highlight the simple scene of urban areas, containing tedious architecture of bricks and glass, as these artworks may play the role of the pivotal pattern to make the scene become more artistic and attractive by their complex shapes. Having understood this idea, numerous roundabouts across Vietnam have been decorated with the sculptures of national heroes in the center, resulting in a less boring metropolitan landscape. Secondly, funding in artwork dispersing across the towns and cities may become a contributing factor to develop tourism. Landscape is one of the most essential criterias individuals may ponder when selecting locations to frequent. Decorating towns and cities with works of art may create more artistic beauty, reinforcing the attractiveness of local areas. As a result, this effort is capable of enhancing the number of individuals selecting these urban areas for travelling, leading to the development of local tourism. Putting more artworks, paintings and statues for instance, in urban areas might bring several advantages to the locals, especially in improving urban landscape and attracting more tourists.

In conclusion, although many individuals are at odds with my opinion, I still believe that putting many works of art in towns and cities may bring several advantages to the locals.