University application should be free for all students. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is said that the fee for education in universities should be free for students from all backgrounds. Whereas there are some types of students who need public grants, I believe that not having any charges for education leads to several consequences in the future.

On the one hand, there will be a chance of getting education for all applicants. Having been made universities free, the interest for the applying them will increase, with the proportion of students applying to the universities increasing dramatically. As a result, there will be enough human resources on the industries which increased the number of options for the companies to select the needed employees. Additionally, students who cannot financially afford universities could also have a chance to show their potential talent and knowledge. For example, Germany, where all public educations are free, saw the greatest increase in its economy, becoming one of the developed countries in the world.

On the other hand, the increased demand for universities has many drawbacks. One of them would be the dropped quality of lessons, leading to a reduced level of efficiency. If the cost of universities is free, students tend to underappreciate the value of lessons, causing problems with less professionalism. Another drawback could be a need for extra professors and campuses, so governmental funds will struggle to cover the expenses of universities since it is important to pay the salaries of a larger staff and buy innovative technologies for projects.

In conclusion, although there is a need to make universities free for certain groups of people, it should not be the case for all students since they may underappreciate the lessons and be additional weight for the government.