Using strict punishment is the only way to ensure road safety in our country.To what extend do you agree or disagree,

Nowadays, traffic has become a major concern in society. It is believed that imposing stricter penalties for driving offences is the ultimate way to ensure the safetyness for traffic participants. This essay aims to explain why I partly disagree with this statement.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people believed in this idea. It is clear that rigorous penalties reduce many accidents on the roads. For example, there was a huge number of accidents caused by drunken drivers before those rules. Therefore, high fines would prevent alcohol consumers from driving cars. The fear of charging a large sum of money would keep them away from driving cars when being drunk. Moreover, many careless drivers were removed from traffic by those rules. In specific, multiple violations of traffic rules might cost them their driving licenses. As a result, those people might be prohibited from using vehicles, in which less careless drivers mean less accidents.

However, there are certain measures to tackle this issue apart from strict punishments. Firstly, the investment of government to enhance transport infrastructure could ease the problem. For instance, the diversity of transport systems in Germany includes multiple routes for drivers, some of which just for high-speed drivers. This means people could choose suitable routes for themselves, in which careful drivers could travel on safety roads and speed lovers could drive on highspeed ways separately. Therefore, the number of accidents on roads would fall significantly. Secondly, raising people’s awareness about the safety rules when participating in traffic could not be underestimated. In fact, local authorities could operate small workshops to educate their inhabitants about traffic rules, signals and warnings. As a result, people would follow rules, which means the proportion of accidents on roads would be alliviated.

To conclude, I believed that apart from heavy penalties for driving offences, government could address the problem by raising public awareness and providing subsidies to improve the transport systems.