We are surrounded by all kinds of advertising, which significantly influence our lives. Do the positive effects of advertising outweigh its negative effects?

Nowadays, people are constantly exposed to various forms of advertising, which have a considerable impact on their daily lives. Whereas advertising can have some demerits, from my perspective its merits are more significant than its drawbacks.

One major disadvantage of advertising is unnecessary spending. Endless promotion can lead to excessive spending among the consumers, purchasing fashionable products simply because celebrities promote them. A good case in point is South Korea, wheremany young people spend large amount of money on beauty and skincare products promoted by k-Pop artists, even when these products are not essential. Secondly, this trend drives to social misleading, as some advertisements exaggerate product benefits. A compelling example is United States, many weight-loss products are advertised as providing rapid results without exercise, causing consumers to have unrealistic expectations and make poor purchasing decisions.

These arguments notwithstanding, I contend that the benefits of this trend outweigh its drawbacks. One key benefit of advertising is sufficient information. Constant advertising provides information about the origins of the product and people can learn about new goods,, services and discounts. For example – Japan, where countless advertising billboards promote products on the streets day and night, constantly providing information about them. Another major advantage of advertising is economical growth of the country. Non-stop advertising boosts economic growth with creating jobs in marketing, media and manufacturing sectors. Furthermore, it increases sales and company profits. For instance – China, due to the continous promotion of these products, the government has been able to boost the economy and improve the the country’s financial condition considerably.

In conclusion, although advertising may sometimes encourage excessive consumptions, its overall impact is undeniably beneficial.