What specific priority area you need to address, how will your chosen course equip you to contribute to addressing this theme, why have you selected your particular university in UK, how do you plan to immediately applying the knowledge you gain after studies?

Entrepreneurship and innovation at the University of Essex is my first choice, which is in line with Chevening’s mission of promoting economic development and job creation. In Nigeria, particularly in the Northeast, there are high numbers of unemployed deaf due to discrimination and economic exclusion, resulting in poverty and social isolation.

Thekey cores of the course, including enterprise creation, strategic innovation, and business development, directly align with the Deaf-focused Enterprise hub’s goals. It will both guide first-time deaf entrepreneurs on how to start and develop a successful business venture and empower Nigerian policymakers to create and implement inclusive economic policy that replicatesthe Deaf-inclusive business model.

Myfuture dream is to join the University of Essex for its focus on student well-being and disability inclusion. This support includes offering advice and guidance, one-on-one mentorship, entrepreneur apprentice support, accessibility for lectures, campus routing and accommodation and a properly established system for creating personal emergency evacuation plans (PEEPs). One thing I love about the university is that it is known for its state-of-the-art sports facilities. I am a sports enthusiast and love participating and watching from the stands. Additionally, the Essex Deaf Children’s Society at the Southend campus is something I would love to volunteer for to interact with deaf children and their families by sharing experiences and enjoying activities to reduce isolation and stress.

Aftermy studies, I plan to immediately return to my country to leverage the learnt and practical business skills and networking forged during studies to implement the Deaf-inclusive business model in Bauchi and empower a number of hearing-impaired people through education, employment, and business leadership training; promote disability awareness work toward policy; and later develop it from the regional level to national outreach.