When international media (including movies, fashion shows, advertisements and other TV programmes) convey the same messages to the global audience, people argue that the expansion of international media has negative impacts on cultural diversity. What is your opinion?

There has been an ongoing debate over whether expansion of International media bring several drawbacks. While some assert that this incurs negative effects by conveying the same messages to the audience, I believe that it cannot harm cultural diversity.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that international media has a huge influence on local culture. To begin with, in modern society, people are exposed to watch international newscasts, adds, films, tv shows, videos via YouTube, and so on. Admittedly, it has a significant impact on cultural identity with regard to attire, food and social manner. Therefore, as time goes by, cultural identity will be weakened to a certain extent. For example, young generation are like a sponge, they absorb what they watched and got impressed from international media. In this respect, cultural identity will be weakening over time.

On the other hand, the concept of cultural diversity has considerably changed in comparison with the past. As the world become globalised, many things on globe will be shared or standardized. For instance, wherever people travel, Coca-Cola and Macdonald’s are easy to find. Additionally, fashion styles such as jeans and shorts are common since Western style is in transition with local ones. However, it does not mean that aforementioned culture dominates local culture. This is because the cultural uniqueness cannot be changed easy with spiritual and ritual matters so globally popular culture plays a vital role in harmonising world with local culture.

To sum up, although international media convey the same messages to recipients, I firmly believe that it could not harm the cultural diversity at big degree.