When it comes to choosing a career path, some individuals prefer working in the public sector, while others opt for private sector employment. Compare and contrast the advantages and disadvantages of working in the public sector versus the private sector.

Globalisation, along with modernisation, has provided many opportunities to choose career related fields. In the recent times, some individuals claim that when the question comes to select a stream in the context of career, few people give preference to working in the public industry; however, others believe that some citizens move towards private employment or businesses. This statement has its own rewards and detriments. Both the merits as well as the demerits are elaborate in the ensuing paragraphs with valid reasons and appropriate examples.

Discussing the gains, one of the most significant advantage is the freedom in private sector jobs. If people run their own trades or businesses rather than giving the importance to government officials, they can come and go at anytime without any formalities. Without the freedom, individuals would find their jobs quite boring and feel like prisoners. In addition, government jobs provide a secure employment. For instance, supposing some workers work in the public domain, they can acquire a lot of benefits from them – such as, life-long employment, official holidays, etc. These practices may not be found in private sector positions.

However, there are a few drawbacks too. To begin with, the first one is risks in the non-governmental designations. In today’s world, many business issues are being faced by private entities, which might not be case it in government jobs. Therefore, if people work in the public sector, they definitely do not face such type of hurdles. Besides this, the centralised employments demand higher education and entrance tests. Without proper education and skills, governments would not hire such type of employees. Hence, these people turn towards startups to build their own organisations.

To conclude, both the sectors have its own positives and negatives. People can start their own businesses without any limitations and have more freedom, while government position provides secure jobs and other multiple benefits which can make their life easier, interesting, and very comfortable.