When it comes to the reasons why we should learn a foreign language, some people suppose that is is useful for travelling to or working in a foreign country whilst others opine that there are other reasons. While admitting the undeniable benefits of this to travel or work overseas, I also subscribe to the latter view.

It was argued that some people consider that learning a language different from your mother tongue only benefits while you are working or traveling, while others believe that there’s way more reasons why we should understand a foreign language. In my opinion, I regard learning foreign languages as beneficial and broaden one’s horizon but not just for jobs and travel.

As we’re born in a globalization era, it’s common for people to speak more than 2 languages nowadays. Most of the people still put language learning as a skill instead of an interest. Due to the higher possibility they might get offered with a position if they have multiple language skills. This is also well-believed that it brings more conveniences while traveling in case that you are visiting somewhere that has bad internet connections or when your battery is dead in order that using online translations are not available.

However, in terms of my personal experiences, I consider that learning a foreign language means more than just job seeking and travel advantages. I believe that when you understand a language, it’s much easier to communicate with the locals in order to get to know more about their culture and make friends with them. This is also commonly happening to movies, arts and literature. Although translation tools are available and convenient to use, there are some parts of the spiritual meanings behind the scenes that are hard to convey through a different language.

In summary, I agree with the beneficial aspect in work or travel that a foreign language could have brought to us, but on the other hand, there are definitely more reasons why we should learn it. Understanding the culture and the people straightforward with their language could never be replaced with translating tools.