With advancements in artificial intelligence, there is growing concern about the potential for machines to replace human workers in various industries. While some believe this could lead to increased productivity and economic growth, others fear widespread unemployment and social unrest. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate over the possibility of machines taking over peoples’ work, because of the increasing use of artificial intelligence and automation. Proponents contend that this will result in redundancy and social disruption, while opponents argue that it will generate new opportunities and ameliorate productivity. I strongly agree with the latter.

On one hand, technology will contribute to unemployment in the society in diverse fields. One of the example is bookkeeping and basic accounting clerks. Automated software handles invoice processing and basic data management. Individuals that used to work in these fields will have to find other jobs or stay at home. Another impact of AI is widespread of social unrest due to frustrations emanating from lost careers and inability to provide the basic needs for their families. Lack of employment puts pressure on the economy. Also, humans might lose control over and this can lead to rise of crimes such as phishing, as individuals attempt to find a living.

On the other hand, while technology is doing tasks that were initially done by humans, it has also created new jobs that people can venture into. Firstly, individuals are needed to make robots and create codes to be used to command machines to do tasks on their own. For instance, with the introduction of self-driven cars, IT experts are employed to use their coding skills and put parts together to make this possible. Consequently, automation has led to enhanced productivity since computers are able to work for long hours without tiring as compared to human beings. This increases outputs, for example, machines are able to make and package bread in many quantities within a short time. In addition, repetitive tasks such as data entry are boring, but machines will perform them over and over again and with high precision.

In conclusion, although automation and artificial intelligence will take over certain fields, its advantages outweighs the disadvantages. Therefore, I feel that people should embrace technology and strife to change with the changing world to help mitigate the demerits of improving technology.