With increasing demand for oil and gas, oil companies are looking for new reserves in remote and untouched regions. Do the benefits of this outweigh the damage caused to the environment?

As the global required of fossil fuels continually increased, some oil organizations are searching of remote and untouched areas for new reserves places. While this plan is appeared to be a reasonable step to save energy supplied, I firmly believe that environmental costs far outweigh than development fossil fuel exploitation.

One of the main drawbacks is that explore pristine regions for oil and gas would be cause irreversible damage for environment. This, in turn, such action will destroy ecosystem and directly harm the wildlife habitats; hence, they pose a serious threat to biodiversity, making it difficult for specious for survive and migrate. Take the Arctic as an example, the oil drilling project involve constructing roads and installing heavy equipment, all of which disrupt the habitats of polar bears. In addition, the industry activities lead to pollution, human presence, and noise, all of which make stress for the local wildlife. Once damage the ice barge, leading to a loss of biodiversity.

Another crucial reason is that reliance on fossil fuel exploration in untouched regions undermines long-term sustainable development. When governments invest in oil and gas extraction, it would reduce the funding for the development of renewable energy transition, such as solar and wind power. This is not only delay the research of renewable energy but also cause more risky of environmental degradation. For example, if one day fossil fuel reserves in remote areas are depletion and no backup plan for alternative energy, future generations will face a severe energy crisis.

In conclusion, due to the earth natural resources are getting less for human use, many oil businesses seek for untouched regions to provide fossil fuel. I strong believe that the drawbacks are outweigh than merits due to irreversible damage for environment and undermines long-term sustainable development. Governments should take the effort to invest the green energy and protect natural states.