With the growing population of cities, more and more people live in homes that have little or no outdoor areas. Is this a positive or negative development?

Gardens and outdoor areas in homes are becoming less and less popular with crowded city dwellers since there has been a significant increase in the population of urban areas. Personally, I find this shift negative as it poses various drawbacks to the city and the people.

Admittedly, less outdoor spaces would leave more land area in the cities to build more homes for a handful of people and more modern amenities. However, houses that are located wall-to-wall will make the general appearance of the city deteriorate. When households have small to no outdoor areas, the owners’ opportunity in adorning their houses’ exterior during holidays or in gardening is limited. This, as a result, will make every property look the same from the outside, having no intriguing decorations that are a candy to the eye. Moreover, not being able to do up one’s home will likely result in lessened efforts in taking care of the house’s well-being. This is because you are not frequently given a chance to take a careful look at your house, making you more inclined to overlook the state of your home, leaving housing problems such as mold, leakage or breakage to thrive.

Habiting in a house that lacks open spaces also affects one’s mental health and emotional welfare. Specifically, whenever you get home from an exasperated day of work, most people would crave to be embraced in a breathable space that oftentimes include greeneries, however, such activity is a luxury in overpopulated cities. This is also true for individuals like children as well as the elders, since these groups are those that need outdoor areas the most, either to play around or exercise. Not having or not having enough outdoor spaces, thus, will lead to the feeling of dissatisfaction within humans, making us feel constantly caged in our own home.

To conclude, in my point of view, the trend of having less open spaces amongst urban houses is disadvantageous. People should be able to purchase houses that have an adequate amount of outdoor areas so that it benefits the aesthetic of the household and its owners’ growth.