With the growing population of cities, more and more people live in homes that have little or no outdoor areas. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the expansion of urban cities, residences are being built with minimun or absent outdoor areas. I strongly believe that this is seen as a positive development as pollution rates and high outdoor temperatures around city areas are known to be at its peak in such cities; therefore, people tend to construct their homes so that they are able to live safely from these dangers.

It is is a widely-known fact that booming cities have many vehicles for the benefit of the transportation for its people, thus pollution in these areas are at its maximum. Automobiles such as cars, buses, and bikes release toxic gases into the atmosphere reducing air quality. Owing to this, homes in cities are built with minimal outdoor contact to ensure that its residents are not exposed to harmful particles, including carbon monoxide, in the air. Despite this, architects insist that homes, built in densely populated cities, are constructed with minimal exposure to the outside environment.

In addition, cities include many buildings that trap heat in their walls causing a rise in outside temperatures making it uncomfortable for surrounding residents to step out of their houses. For example, cement and brick in high-rised structures are known to absorb heat from the sunlight and emit them to their surroundings. While this shift in outside environmental temperature can be hazardous to people living in the area, resisdents are forced to adjust by building their houses with little or no outdoor spaces, as it sometimes can be unbearable to stay in outdoors.

In conclusion, as cities continue to grow, its resisdents are made construct their homes with the least exporure to the their surroundings. This is to evade the effects of pollution and heat generation caused by cities. However, in my opinion, I think that this is a positive development, as resisdents benefit from this change in their homes for healthier living standards.