With the improvement of technology, it is possible to monitor what people are doing or saying. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Technology has been developing constantly through the ages. With its advancement, our lives are being shaped and adapted to it accordingly. These improvements can be observed in many aspects of our daily life. Undoubtedly, one of the most common outcome of it is the technological devices that we are surrounded with. These devices come in many shapes and forms, ranging from a sophistacted health device used for treating a patient in an hospital to smartphones which we carry in our pockets.

Implementation of technological devices into our daily life bring a countless number of advantages, one of which would be that technology makes our lives easier through collection of data. For example, many places employ security cameras where every scene is captured. In criminal cases, the recordings captured by security cameras act as a proof in the court. This situation helps the police identify the criminals or victims. Furthermore, sometimes, we might also would like to track our own activities. In this context, wearable smart devices such as smart watches can monitor our movements or even health statistics. We can simply look at our smart watch at the end of the day to see how many steps we took during the day or how well we slept the last night. This kind of information is, of course, very insightful and can improve our life quaility. Having possibility to access this data enables us to realize what might have been overseen otherwise. On the other hand, there could be instances where the personal data is misued. In the absence of relevant laws, the technological companies can store and use this data for their own interest. Analyzing our personal data, they can try to customize and sell products to people to achieve greater profits. It is even possible for them to sell the perosnal data to third parties.

As a result, in my opinion, altough there are considerable drawbacks of the use of tracking techology, which poses a concern, I still believe that the advantages clearly outweight. On a personal level, we should be aware of our actions and how we use the technology. Moreover, the lawmakers and governments should ensure that our data is collected, stored and used in a complaint manner.