With the increasing reliance on technology in workplaces, some people argue that traditional office environments will soon become obsolete. Others, however, believe that face-to-face interaction remains crucial for productivity and collaboration.

We are witnessing an unprecedented increase in workplace technology, as some believe the traditional workspace will soon cease to exist, while others persist in the need and value for face-to-face interaction to foster workplace productivity and collaboration. However, I contend that a fusion of both practices will foster a healthier and more holistic workforce that will thrive in the 21st century and beyond.

With the advent of COVID-19, we witnessed an influx of non-conventional (work-from-home or remote work) working structures within most industries, and with its aftermath, we inevitably embraced the structures. Consequently, new and old workplace technology products (e.g. Zoom, Google Meet, Canva, Slack, etc.) were being utilised to cope with the distance and maintain normal business operating standards without having to leave the house. Both parties found this working system revolutionary, as workers were able to maintain a flexible work schedule and employers had unburdened themselves from fulfilling overhead costs.

Conversely, some maintain the value of having face-to-face interactions in building and maintaining team productivity and cohesion. Working remotely could increase the danger of employee isolation, which could, in turn, have negative impacts on tasks and deliverables. Additionally, there is a danger of loss of connectedness, where there is a complete disconnection between the employee and the company, as communication can be severely impacted during this process. Physical interaction between members of the team helps in forming stronger bonds, which inadvertently leads to improved productivity.

In my view, a balanced approach provides a holistic and productive working system. As the employees are empowered to control work schedules, this offers them more flexibility. Furthermore, for employers, a hybrid approach provides them with an opportunity to reduce the cost associated with running a physical operation daily. A perfect example of this would be my workplace, Sapphital. They offer staff a hybrid work structure option, which includes 3 days at home and 2 days in the office. Consequently, since its adoption, they have noticed an increase in employee satisfaction and work-life balance.

In conclusion, the increase in workplace technology is inevitable, and some parties are conscious about it taking over face-to-face traditional workplace structures, which could, in turn, diminish productivity. However, blending both modern and traditional office systems can provide a healthier and cohesive workforce.