With the rise of artificial intelligence, many jobs will be replaced by machines. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The issue related to artificial intelligence has sparked considerable debate these days because, thanks to this trend, many occupations will be altered by machines’ duties. People hold divergent views about whether this development brings more benefits or drawbacks. From my perspective, while AI has several merits in some aspects, it still hold a few disadvantages that must be equally considered.

On the one hand, technology enables large institutions to gain more effective productivity. This is because machines, unlike human beings, are inexhaustible due to the fact that they do not need a biological process to recover. For instance, while there is a time that employees should be allowed to eat or have a break during their work to relax, technological machines can constantly operate and do the given tasks without rest for a long period, hence creating more high-quality products, which contributes to the whole economy. Additionally, this development decreases the cost for a lot of manufacturing processes. Machines often go with one down payment, which is in some ways, much more economical, while the salary for manual workers can incur overtime, leading to a rise in hiring costs. Therefore, large organizations can save a vast amount of money by applying artificial intelligence in their companies.

On the other hand, a high potential for a rising unemployment rate could be one drawback worth mentioning. For example, translators, the occupation that requires a long period to become proficient in, are on the verge of being diminished by AI products such as Chat GPT or Gemini, which can convert one language into others within seconds, thus posing a threat to a part of the population. Furthermore, such a change can burden a country’s welfare system because individuals who are unemployed will depend largely on a monthly stipend from the authorities to survive. As a result, this can slow down the nation’s acceleration due to the fact that governments have to channel more fundings towards assisting these individuals.

In conclusion, while artificial intelligence can offer several advantages regarding productivity and reasonable prices, its consequences should not be overlooked in terms of increasing the unemployment rate and a burden on governments for social welfare.