With the rise of social media, individuals are increasingly curating their online personas, often presenting idealized versions of themselves. Some believe this trend allows people to express their desired identities and build online communities, while others worry about the potential for social comparison, mental health issues, and the erosion of authenticity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Social media has become an integeral part of human life in recent years. It makes individuals portray a unrealistic version of themselves and affects them psychologically. I strongly agree with the aforementioned statement because it influences young people in negative directions. This essay will discuss the reasons behind psychological effects and how social media is contribute to this problem.

To begin with, social media platforms allow people to post a wide range of content. This can influence younger generations to believe in fake posts posted on social networking sites such as Instagram, Facebook and Youtube. It encourages them to do such activities and post the similar content on their page to increasing views and likes to gain popularity. For instance, according to recent research at Harvard University, many youth are addicted to social media content such as rash driving, high adrenaline sports and dangerous stunts. As a result, they are negatively influenced by online content.

Consequently, individuality has been lost among people because they tend to be unrealistic online identities.It has psychological impacts such as finding it hard to spend quality time with friends and family, and personify themselves as the happiest person on social media.If they gain fame and popularity, it will become hard to have a peacefull personal life. For example, Celebrities cannot spend time freely in public places such as malls, beaches and other tourist attractions.So, they prefer to maintain privacy to avoid public attention.

In conclusion, people are influenced by harmful content posted on social media which can lead to psychological effects.This trend also reduces individuality among people.