Write about the following topic. The media pay too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, singers or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, celebrities have become the most demanded people in the world. That’s why the media pay too much attention to their lives and relationships, to attract the public. But most people believe that they should spend more time reporting ordinary people’s lives instead. I partly agree with it, though I think that common people should not appear in public media too much.

On the one hand, it’s cool and interesting to know all about the celebrities you love, and their everyday life. When you know their daily routine or the way they behave. On the other hand, this can lead to serious problems, if their life is overly exposed. Reporters chase them everywhere, just to get a picture, and to write something in the report. However, this is rude to invade in their life, breaking personal boundaries. Moreover, if people watch them too much, they start noticing more disadvantages and judge them for nothing. Consequently, this has a negative effect on icons’ physical and mental health. For instance, in K-pop many well-known individuals committed suicide, because they couldn’t stand so many negative judgements.

Regarding ordinary people, their lives are not as interesting as famous ones’. This is important for media to attract people, but if they start focusing on average people, they will lose the number of viewers. In addition, some media workers can be sued or punished if they don’t terminate delivering disadvantages. Because, it’s a privacy violation to chase and observe someone. This can make society feel concerned and uncomfortable.

To sum up, I agree that ordinary people should be more noticed by the media, but celebrities are more required by the public. Although they have the right for privacy, and can establish personal boundaries. Ultimately, there are also humans, and have the same rights as we.