Write about the following topic. The media pay too much attention to the lives and relationships of celebrities such as actors, singers or footballers. They should spend more time reporting the lives of ordinary people instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Media, as one of the most prevalent sources for people to get information from, has been debated to publish an unbalanced amount of news between famous figures and the ordinary. Though naysayers of news about celebrities have their own justifications, I firmly believe that there is an appropriate quantity of news about famous people, considering its substantial advantages.

Granted, supporters of the opinion that there should be more news regarding the lives of ordinary people might argue that inspirational stories from these figures should be more widespread. Indeed, ordinary people in the media are closest to how people normally see themselves in real life. As numerous academic students from underprivileged backgrounds, for example, have been granted as models for students who are from whatever background, more and more students are inspired to thrive better in their learning path. Likewise, examples of people doing good actions, such as joining volunteer jobs and raising charity funds, have also driven others to contribute and devote to the improvement of community like them.

However, to say that there is over sufficient amount of news related to famous figures and that there should be a more pronounced emphasis on the ordinary people’s daily lives is superficial. Specifically, this thinking is flawed as it overlooks the huge and positive influence of popular figures. Irrefutably, thanks to their popularity, that they contribute and do various charity works can spread such a positive influence, a butterfly effect, to their millions of followers. As such, these followers can learn from their idols, let alone examples that social media influencers have top-notch academic achievements and encourage the young generation to be lifelong learners. Besides, a further reason why the emphasis on reporting news about famous people is beneficial lies in how they help increase readership of social media platforms. Examples for this can be seen in how several people are drawn towards celebrities’ relationships. This in turn is financially advantageous to news platforms as well as people mental wellbeing if these people deem this kind of news as entertaining.

To conclude, despite the fact that the merits of publishing news about the ordinary are evident, I totally disagree to the argument of posting more of this news than news about famous people based on my convictions elaborated above.