Write about the following topic. Most people are not interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it costs. How true is this statement? What influences people when they buy food? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Each person has different shopping habits, especially when buying groceries. What does influence us to choose a particular carton of milk, bottle of oil or bar of chocolate? In fact, various reasons drive consumers.

It is impossible to ignore the price factor as each person behaves and chooses their lifestyle according to their budget. Some go to small supermarkets and jump at using any discount they may be provided with. Others prefer local markets for grass-fed and locally-bred meat, selected organic fruits and vegetables and high-quality spices to satisfy their needs. For them the freshness and quality of food is of great significance. Therefore, it all boils down to the values of consumers, their life opportunities and financial possibilities.

However, there is a great number of additional factors to be considered. For instance, religious beliefs are still relevant when purchasing goods, especially in cosmopolitan regions with representatives of diverse confessions or in religious communities. The beliefs put restrictions on their diet, so buying only kosher or halal food becomes a must.

Seasonal food variation should also be taken into consideration in this regard. When the market is abundant with relatively cheap and fresh products (for example, as with tangerines before the New Year’s in Russia), the buyer is more likely to add it to their consumer basket. Of course, this case is deeply intertwined with the financial question.

To sum everything up, the consumer’s choice is a highly relative matter. A narrow view on it is to consider the price as the only essential factor. Values and beliefs, situation on the market, and the quality of production also make their contribution.