Write about the following topic. Most people are not interested in how their food has been produced. They only care about how much it costs. How true is this statement? What influences people when they buy food? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Today, the majority of people prefer to pay attention to the prices of the groceries they buy, rather than to the way these products are manufactured. I agree with this statement and believe that people have rather significant reasons for such a choice.

It’s argued that people nowadays are more aware of different types of farming, genetic modifications and other aspects of food manufacturing and take them into account to make their consumption healthier and more environmentally friendly. What I mean is that they will, for example, opt for a box of free-range chicken eggs, even if they are more expensive, because they care about the conditions the poultry are raised in. Such people, consequently, choose to support only those manufacturers who follow the organic standards regardless of the prices.

Although I accept that some people can be genuinely concerned about the origin of the food they consume, most people, in my opinion, prioritise different aspects while choosing products for themselves and their families. In particular, for an average person it’s crucial to be sure they can afford a well-balanced diet, so while shopping they would definitely pay attention to the price tags. It’s typical for the people in my country, for instance, to have discount cards from supermarkets and follow the information about the sales. By doing so, they support their households with enough food without exceeding the budget.

Being restricted by the part of their income they can spend on groceries, people also consider nutritional value and contents when choosing what to place on their table. All around the world, we can see people carefully studying the labels before putting something in their cart. As a result, they purchase only the things that are good value for money and will provide them with all the necessary nutrients.

In conclusion, even though environmental awareness has been a trend for a while, for the majority of people cost of food remains the priority. I believe it’s truly important to choose affordable products.