Write about the following topic: In certain countries, the number of people who use bicycles as the main means of transport is reducing even though it is beneficial both physically and environmentally. What can be the reasons for this change in preference? How can people be encouraged to use bicycles? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is true that there are fewer people opting for bicycles as their main means of transport across certain nations despite witnessing their physical and environmental benefits. In this essay, I would give the rationale behind this trend before putting forward some practical measures to encourage residents to use bicycles.

To begin with, the decline in bicycle activities among individuals could be attributed to a variety of factors. In today’s fast-paced world, citizens, especially workers, tend to prioritize convenience and save their effort for significant activities, such as specialized jobs. They, therefore, are less likely to spend much time on commuting by opting for public transport, which is faster and has flexible schedules while better catering to needs of citizens, instead of bicycles. Furthermore, in some countries, exclusive and designated lanes for bicycles are limited and underdeveloped, forcing people to ride bicycles in the same lanes as other vehicles. This could pose higher risks to those riding bicycles when accidents arise as they tend to be equipped with less protective equipment and more rudimentary skills, eventually affecting people’s choice of transportation. For example, there have been miserable accidents relating to bicycles due to the lack of designated lanes and exclusive facilities for riders in Vietnam, raising concerns among individuals despite being aware of the benefits of riding bicycles.

Nevertheless, some feasible solutions could be adopted to tackle the problems described above. The first possible measure is the government to implement safety policies and improve current transport system by creating lanes made specifically for bicycles. This could give people who intend to ride bicycles a better understanding of their safety and a peace of mind to be more willing to adopt this kind of transport. Another remedy might be awareness campaigns run by the state about the significance of activities like riding bicycles to people’s overall health and the nature itself. Being well conscious of how opting for bicycles could positively affect their health and the environment, individuals would be more ready to take on this activity.

In conclusion, there are two primary reasons why there is a decline tendency in bicycling in some countries in spite of its physical and environmental benefits. However, the authority could implement a range of measures, including enhancing transport system and running campaigns, to handle the problems.