Write about the following topic: In certain countries, the number of people who use bicycles as the main means of transport is reducing even though it is beneficial both physically and environmentally. What can be the reasons for this change in preference? How can people be encouraged to use bicycles? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

In some nations, the proportion of people using bicycle as their primary type of transport is dropping, despite the benefits it have for physical health and environment. There are many reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted by the government.

There are two primary reasons why people are shifting from using bicycle. the first reason would be the lack of safety on the road. Many paths nowadays are usually designed exclusively only for either car or truck with no side road, which makes it really dangerous to use a bike on these roads. Thereby, civilians will be afraid of using bicycle since it is too risky. The second reason is the pollution in the air. Even though driving a bike can help people to strengthen their physical health, having to travel long distance without any cover can have a detrimental effect on their breathing since the air now are heavily polluted by a lot of smoke generated from traffic congestion. As a result, to secure their health, many people now choose a car instead.

Fortunately, there are several measures could be taken to alleviate these issues. The first solution would simply be building more roads for bicycle. With the funding from the government, people will be able to build paths that are made only for bikes and pedestrians. Subsequently, this shift will not only provide bicyclist with a safer path for driving but also encourage people to exercise through walking or running. The second solution is to mitigate the impact of pollution on the environment. To tackle down this problem, the government will need to limit the smoke released into the air through environmentally friendly sort of transportation such as electric car. As a result, pollution rate will drop quickly and people will be motivated to use bicycle.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are many reasons behind the decline in bicycle users, and steps need to be taken to resolve these problems through either building more roads for bike or improving the air quality.