Write about the following topic: In some countries, people who commit less serious crimes are made to undertake community service* instead of a prison sentence. Some people believe that all people who have committed a crime should be sent to prison. Do you agree or disagree? *compulsory work helping the community, such as decorating public facilities, which they must carry out in their spare time for a given period. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In recent years, criminal issues have become a controversial topic in some nations. It is believed that participating in social activities are used as punishment for minor crimes, while some claim that all should be put in prison. In my opinion, there must be a classification of punishment system for each level of crimes for several reasons.

On the one hand, undertaking community services is a good way for rehabilitation among offenders with less serious crimes. Instead of forcing people who commit a crime to bear responsibility for what they do, governments can give them opportunities to fix their faults by letting them contribute more to society. In addition, it is compulsory working helping the community, such as decorating public facilities, cleaning up streets or even helping disadvantaged people that awake crimes’ humanity inside them. It not only makes offenders useful in their local community but also reforms them to be better citizens.

On the other hand, severe punishment like prison for minor crimes can lead to a number of negative effects. Firstly, it can make prisoners’ behavior worse. When criminals are put together in prison, it is easy for those who commit minor crimes to be affected by those with more dangerous level. Besides, a person’s life can be influenced by a criminal record, specifically finding jobs difficultly as no employers want to recruit those who used to have committing offences. For example, many people who was released from prison have to put up with long-time contemtuous and even frightened attitude from others, let alone applying for a job.

In conclusion, I believe that imprisonment is only suitable for serious crimes, while authorities can apply community service for of minor crimes to carry out. If less serious offenders were give a sufficient punishment, it would help to rehabilitate them to be better residents.