Write about the following topic: International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

International tourism benefits countries to the point that some countries’ major income source is tourism. However, tourism can cause governments to care more about tourists than actual residents. I believe that the advantages of tourism outweigh the disadvantages, but only by a slight margin.

A disadvantage of tourism is that sometimes tourists cause havoc in the country and might give the natives negative impressions of tourism as a whole, making the residents gradually dislike tourism until they hate it, giving birth to racism. This can be seen in popular tourist destinations like France and England, where people are discriminated against. Other drawbacks of tourism are that most of the time, the places most frequented by tourists experience a big price increase, making the Indigenous people of said landmarks struggle to live, and they are sometimes forced to leave their hometowns to live somewhere they can afford. I have seen this happen myself in Egypt, the people who were living near the pyramids used to live peacefully until people started visiting the pyramids, and prices multiplied.

By contrast, tourism helps countries and their inhabitants by enticing foreign countries to form close ties with them. Countries also benefit from tourism as companies normally base their headquarters in popular tourist nations as seen in the united arab emirates, specifically Dubai. By having various companies based in Dubai, any form of hostility against them from an opposing nation would also severely damage that country’s economy and reputation as the consumers of the products produced by the companies based in Dubai would pressure the government to stop their hostility.

In conclusion, the advantages of tourism certainly outweigh the disadvantages, but it all depends on the country’s view towards tourism.