Write about the following topic: Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Even today, many people are bound by the unwritten societal standards which circumscribes an individual from trying something new or something different. This has led many people to a situation, where they follow jobs and line of works that they abhor or for which they are under qualified. This generally the case because of family pressure or social stereotypes. And this kind of pressure ends up making an individual feeling unhappy and stressed out or deeply unappreciated in their line of work.

The pressure from the family and social stereotypes are the main culprits for this situation. People cannot deny the wishes of their parents, where the parents want to see their children becoming doctors and engineers when their children grow up. This puts them in a path for which they never had any choice. And even if they end up knowing what to do with their life when they grow up, the society holds them back from changing their career paths or even take risks, by criticizing them for it. For example, in most of the asian house holds, the children are forced to study subjects of their parent’s choice. This not only limits their life but ends up making them lament every second of it.

So, these unfavorable conditions have harsh ramifications. Following a life where you do not have any say, is a life that makes you limited to the bad decisions that you make. Whatever may the cause be, if you either hate your work or not competent for it, then there is a high chance that you will under perform at your work place. This would directly affect the promotions and growth, leading to a more stagnant life. This lack of growth or change, makes an individual mentally unhealthy due to how they may get treated at work. For example, a person who has extraordinary football skills will not perfrom equally well in a basketball match. If that person is forced to play basketball then he will be stripped off from accomplishing great feats in their career. With this being said, facing such situation would extremely hamper the life of an individual.

In conclusion, such situations are caused by family pressures or societal constraints, which can lead to an limited and unhappy life for any person in this world.