Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Communication styles have changed radically over the past 20 years, and this is largely due to the prevalence of social media websites. Some see this as a wonderful enhancement of their lifestyle, while others have a more critical opinion. This essay will outline the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon, and will weigh up its merits.

Social media websites have reached their current level of popularity because of their many advantages. Notably, these websites have made it almost effortless to create and maintain both local and international social networks. In addition, thay allow users to access support when suffering from life’s tribulations and complications. It is possible, as well, to use these sites to find and discuss information about many issues, from the best local shopping to international news. Authorities find social media advantageous when tracking criminals, who sometimes use networks to set up illegal activities. One further advantage is that sites such as LinkedIn are a key resource for job recruiters, and many people find work in this way.

However, these sites also have significant negative consequences. Foremost is the fact that both students and workers can waste a great deal of time and productivity because of the distractions these networks provide. This can adversely affect not only academic life but also career opportunities. Another drawback is the amount of misinformation and vicious rumour that can circulate and spread like wildfire, causing real misery and distress to both private citizens and to celebrities. Finally, the websites tend to reduce time spent on face-to-face communication, and, in my opinion, live family and friend interactions are of primary importance for our mental wellbeing.

In conclusion, although social media sites have the potential to bring people closer together, they encourage time wasting and superficial communication, and the anonymity that they provide allows for unkind, even nasty, social interactions. People would do better to spend more quality, face-to-face time with real people.