Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is this era’s prevailing debate: should we allow social media to dominate our channels of communication, or should we curb its use due to its disadvantages? I adamantly believe that social media must continue to thrive due to the following reasons.

The internet-based media has streamlined international collaboration between scientists, yielding a rise in intercontinental research. A case in point would be my research on irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) among medical students. Three years ago, I envisioned running an international study that investigated the prevalence of IBS in medical students. The most challenging task was locating researchers interested in the topic. Forty years ago, this would have required a daunting process of writing countless letters to universities worldwide and requesting to advertise the research within their relevant departments. However, the funding and time needed for this step alone would surpass the cost of my research. Fortunately, I had this indispensable named Linkedin. This social media outlet enabled me to effortlessly recruit relevant and highly qualified personnel for the study in a single sitting and without decimating my department’s bank account. Communicating with these personnel to offer them the opportunity and provide information, too, were simple and swift.

Social media has also transformed provider-consumer communication in the business world. It has made it possible for hundreds of thousands of small businesses that previously could not afford to advertise their services – due to media outlets being too costly – to run commercials that reach consumers for a fraction of the cost TV commercials. According to Lee et al., this has led to a notable soar in the number of successful small businesses, and hence global economic growth, since the inception of social media. An excellent illustration of this would be my small betting business, which heavily relied on the Facebook and Instagram advertisements I posted for as little as $2 per day. A survey I conducted unequivocally showed that over 80% of customers were drawn to my betting shop due to the ads on these outlets. However, this has not benefited me only; because I am able to effectively communicate with my clients using these websites, I run a successful business and have become a proud tax-payer, depositing nearly GBP 2000 in tax per annum, an amount that would have been unthinkable for a small business to afford in the pre-Facebook.

I understand that social media does provide a fertile ground for the spread of false information as well as for the leaking of confidential data. For instance, my country was in a dreadful turmoil due to false news claiming that the president has stepped down. I have also fell victim to hackers who logged into my Facebook account. However, technology has produced numerous remedies to mitigate these issues, such as anti-malware, anti-spyware, and AI-based police for false information detection. Utilizing these tools, one can minimize the adverse effects of online media and reap the immense benefits of these wonderful inventions.

Due to the benefits offered by social media in simplifying communication among researchers as well as business owners and customers, and the subsequent advancement of research and the economy, I am of the firm belief that they provide benefits that undeniably outweigh all of their risks.