Writing Task 2: Some people think that building more skyscrapers in cities is a positive development. Others believe that this trend has negative impacts on the city and its residents. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The rapid rise of skyscrapers in cities is defining the development and modernization of urban landscapes. While some argue that constructing more and more high-rises contribute to positive changes in the future, others think this tendency hold the detrimental influence on both city and citizens. From my perspective, although I acknowledge that erecting building can strengthen the status of a country in the whole world, this trend leads to several environmental issues.

On the one hand, I contend that constructing skyscrapers offer numerous benefits for residents and a nation. Firstly, the demand of residential accommodations in the metropolitan city invariably a controversial topic which governments need to face through each year. The number of populations increase considerably yearly, leading to housing for people become more serious, therefore, vertical buildings are an effective method to address, creating significant flats and apartments for them. Additionally, many towers in Vietnam are the iconic building such as Landmark 81 in Ho Chi Minh City and Gangnam in Hanoi, attracting travelers visit and observe all large city on the top of buildings. Restaurants, cinemas and other services are allocated in these building, allowing visitors have impressive services in special places.

On the other hand, the erection of high buildings affect adversely on the environment and the cost needed to build it. Residents have to suffer from the scene of polluted life, because of the quality of air around these places, released from construction process like drilling, remarkably damaging people’s health. Furthermore, governments have to allocate a huge investment into projects, placing a burden of budget of the state in the long period. Secondly, they often contribute to urban problems such as traffic congestion, overcrowding and social well-being. To cater large individuals, governments have to renovate social amenities including general parks, local healthcare systems and traffic infrastructure.

In conclusion, although I strongly agree with certain benefits which rising skyscrapers offers, I am convinced that the latter holds more validity in the long run. It is recommended that further investigations be taken to maximize the advantages of putting up multistory building while minimizing any drawbacks.