WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is rising. In fact, not only stress has been seeing a recent increase, but also many other psychological disorders are getting more and more recurring in the past few times.

This problem often comes from the way people live or the expectations they put into their lives or achievments. Stress can be related to work, family, university, or even other aspects of daily life. People tend to not cope too well with pressure and, at times when they feel too much of it, stress makes its way into the human mind.

Especially in developed countries and very productive societies, people tend to have a strong interest in their careers, define strict objectives (like being promoted, earning a specific income, designing a certain product with certain features, and so on), work many hours and feel a lot of need to perform properly. This kind of expectations, along with a possible lack of time to rest, can have long term repercussions in one’s mind.

Apart from that, as aforementioned, other private subjects can conduct people into a state of stress. Relationships in general, with possible divergences or arguments, are also a cause for this problem. For example, the fact that stress’ secondary effects tend to only make themselves noticed on the long term originates a period of apparent discussions over a hand full of nothing, which ultimately make the situation even worse.

Several efforts in terms of mental health have been made over the past few years. Despite of that, there’s still a long way to go. Stress can be minimized with better work environments, good healthcare and other types of aiding (for example, providing parents some free time to have their own hobbies and activities), getting children good orientation into their study and work life (helping creating realistic and varied goals and expectations for each one of them) and good education which, allied with familiy time, can be a hope into increasingly better human relationships for generations to come.