Writing Task 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement? You should write at least 250 words.

It’s widely believed that introducing rules and regulations helps build a society, while others think people should be granted to do things freely. This essay agrees that rules and laws affect our society positively. In addition, people should be allowed to be creative as long as they follow the laws.

Firstly, rules and laws control the crime rate of a nation. By implementing laws and punishments, governments can control the crime rate. Substantially, a safe country attracts overseas businessmen for investment. As a result, it reduces unemployment rate and enhance the economy. For example, a 2023 study, which was conducted in the UK shows that 75% of the interviewees preferred living in a country with strict laws as it helps enhance the economy and provide job opportunities.

Secondly, citizen feel safe and happy if a country implement rules and regulations. As a result, it improves their work productivity. Furthermore it brings higher profits to the countries than before and the employees can also benefit from high salaries and bonuses. A 2024 study completed in China finds that 89% interviewees were confident living in a society with laws in place, and would not consider migration.

To sum up, rules and laws improve the development of a nation. In addition, talents will likely stay permanently to contribute to their countries. However, governments should not restrict the imaginations and creativity of the people. People should also be allowed to think out of the box as it is crucial for a nation to improve.