WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The amount of people that suffer from stress is gradually increasing in many countries of the modern society. People say that it is part of everyone’s daily lives, and sometimes it can even be beneficial. For example, feeling a little anxious before an exam may result in a more concentrated performance. However, the consequences that may arise from stress must not be underestimated.

Large amount of studies have been conducted, anc according to these there is wide variety t of situations that may cause stress. Nonetheless, everyone is different, and people can find that some of these do not belong to their experience, while some that do belong are not discussed. In general, work related experiences are usually cause for stress. It is always noted how the rate of unemployment has been raising for the past years, and in the last period the fear of artificial intelligence taking over jobs from humans is spreading at an incredible pace. Information on these topics must be always up to date, in order to inform people of the changes that are happening without making them scared of those. Additionally, the traditional 9 to 5 working day has been subject of discussion. Many countries are experimenting new working hours, together with revisioned weekly schedules that increase the number of free days. This would allow workers to conduct a healthier lifestyle, spending more time with their family and friends.

Another common point of discussion, especially concerning the younger generations, is the social media pressure. Teenagers often idolize famous people, making them a role model. While this may be beneficial in some cases, in the vast majority of occasions it is not. The idea of conforming to certain stereotypes, could make those who do not feel left out. The main problem at this point is that these people will either try to hide their feelings, or pretend to be someone they are not. In both cases this is not beneficial and it will lead them to suffer from stress. So as to contrast these situations, schools and universities should provide free psychologist private sessions for their students, which will constitute a free space that allows them to express their feelings and feel heard.

In conclusion, stress is a disease that is often difficult to detect, both from the outside and from the person suffering from it. It is essential not to underestimate the consequences it may have on people’s daily life and awareness must be raised about it so as to be able to manage and overcome it.