WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In many countries, stress is becoming an increasingly frequent problem among the people. Stress can lead to multiple mental and physical issues that are not to be taken lightly. While a moderate amount of stress can be a motivator, excessive amount of stress can cause a complete breakdown of a person. This leads us to the question, what causes stress and what measures can be taken to overcome it?

Stress can come from many forms. One of the reasons for stress is people have high expectations of themselves. They push themselves harshly in order to achieve expectations that might be beyond their limits. The expectations are not unfounded though, for example in the working class, they stem from rising standards of society as prices skyrocket and they find it harder to cope. Another example is children, who bear the hope of their parents, are often pressured into stuff such as studying hard to get good grades, excelling at an activity they have no interest in and so on. If they fail to do so, they get punished. This prompt them to be constantly stressed out to work on something that is not enjoyable to them to meet their parents’ expectations.

There are many solutions to tackle this issue. From an individual perspective, relieving stress is the most straightforward method. Everybody has their own way of relieving stress, whether it being exercising, playing video games, or hanging out with friends, it doesnt matter. Additionally, one can seek help from psychiatrist for professional consultation. Besides, parents play an important role in ensuring their children maintain a healthy stress level. Since young, they must express their love for their children, imposing a moderate amount of expectations, and promise the children that they will love them always.

In a nutshell, a balance between life and stress is the key. Sufficient amount of stress encourages growth, as people will strive for the betterment of themselves; Excessive amount of stress breaks self-esteem as people are unable to cope. So learing how to manage stress is vital.